A New Approach

I realize it has been awhile since my last post. There are a few reasons for this. First, as many of you know, my first cousin was recently married, so I was busy being cheap labor. Second, I just plumb ran out of ideas. The second reason is what I would like to elaborate on.

Originally, I created my blog as a way to vent. When that blew up in my face, I began to participate in a bi-weekly event called Let’s Blog Off. After reading the blogs of the other participants, I felt like a chump. “Holy cow! These people can write.” I thought. I became discouraged and have not participated in awhile.

I really would like to write, but I do not know what to write about. As someone who is unemployed, I do not lead the most exciting life, due to funds (or lack thereof). Also, I do not want to be compared to some of my Twitter friends, who are absolute pros when it comes to blogging. Many of them write for a living. I do not. I am an engineer; I tear things down and rebuild them. I crunch numbers, I do not write.

Recently, I began attending New Media Dayton events. One theme that kept popping up was providing value. This made me think. I am not showing the world I can contribute or provide value. Time to retool and start over.

I paid closer attention to people’s posts and profiles. As I read, I thought about each individual and what his or her strengths are. Then it occurred to me. I can do this, too. All it takes is thought and some extra effort.

This new approach is quite exciting. I feel as if I have a purpose again. To those of you who inspired me, thank you from the bottom of my heart. You give me something to strive for. Cheers to a new approach!

Leave a Reply

